About Me · Artistic Adventures · DIY · Nest · Photography

In the Eyes of the Beholder- DIY Gallery Wall!

First of all– TGIF!!

I hope you all are as excited as I am for the upcoming Fourth of July weekend festivities! I’m going to the Hush-Hush Red and Blue Silent Disco on Saturday for my friend’s birthday down here in Atlanta and I’m so pumped!!

redandblue

 

But back to the topic at hand… My DIY Gallery Wall! This has been a slow process, but I’m finally ready to reveal it! I love larger art, but definitely don’t have the budget to buy some fab statement pieces. However, Parabo Press often times has FANTASTIC deals in their email subscription or even on Groupon (right now has two deals on Groupon). So, I had 25- 5″x5″ prints made, and two larger prints from Iceland and other adventures with friends.

 

For the larger, landscape prints, I wanted an affordable framing option, so I DIY-ed a “poster hanger” frame and an acrylic frame with the help of these two blogs!

A Beautiful Mess- DIY Poster Hanger Frame

A Beautiful Mess- DIY Acrylic Frame

Home Depot- DIY Acrylic Frame

It was fairly simple and straight-forward, and relatively easy on the wallet. I was really in love with with brass stand-off bolts, but they were super expensive everywhere I looked, so I bought some stainless steel ones and painted them with a gold paint pen. I liked how the paint pen turned out better than the Rub N’ Buff – gold leaf I tried.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The magnets listed in the DIY tutorial for the Poster Hanger didn’t work for me, they weren’t strong enough to hold the art to the top frame, so I had to use tiny photo adhesive dots to keep the art in place. Good news is that the print itself was so affordable that if it gets ruined during a move, etc, I can replace it fairly easy at Parabo Press!

Below are the final projects in their respective homes!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I absolutely ADORE my Chrome Yellow Trading Co- “Old Fourth Ward” Pennant! I love that wherever I move to I’ll be able to have a piece of my favorite neighborhood I’ve lived in in Atlanta. ❤

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

This last photo showcases the watercolor skyline art project I did a while ago! Still love this piece, and people cannot believe that it’s DIY! Check out the original blogpost here- Just Another Abstract.

*Fun fact, this is the “famous” skyline of Atlanta, and I happen to live right beside the bridge where everyone goes to to snap pics of this skyline! (See below)

 

Photo above by Tim Nummy at www.timnummyphotography.com

I hope you enjoyed seeing a peek into my home! I love photography and art and am happy I finally could incorporate it into my home even with my strict budget!

Leave a Reply

