Plastics

Wham BAM: Post-Op Day 2

Hey all!

It’s my 2nd day post-op and I can’t wait to share with you the experience I’ve had thus far.

If you missed my first pre-op post, you can find it here!

So truthfully, the last two days have been a druggy haze, but I do remember parts here and there. Upon first waking up I don’t remember much pain or discomfort at all. Really, all it felt like was a hard “chest day” at the gym. I didn’t feel pain, as much as just the type of soreness you get from working out your muscles.

So being a nurse, I knew that the first 12-24 hours after surgery would be easier than Post-op Day 2. I knew that I had plenty of local lidocaine numbing the area inside the pocket as well as around my incisions, as well as the lingering heavy duty pain meds given to me through the IV. Anyways, I was able to sit up and stand quite easily with minimal help. I would rate my “pain” a 2 out of 10.

I felt fairly lucid after anesthesia; however, I couldn’t stay awake for the life of me. I kept drifting off to sleep, even mid-sentence! Also, we’re always told to tell our patients to start out slow with food so you won’t get nauseated, but I jumped straight in to a fully loaded pizza with only delicious results! Of course, everyone is different and must be aware of their own nausea level and tolerance for anesthesia.

So, the remainder of the first day after the surgery, the following night, and the complete following day was pretty much a breeze on the “pain” scale. However, on the 2nd full day after the operation I noticed that if I moved my left arm certain ways I would get a “shooting” pain in my armpit– pains like these are normal after BAM’s as the brachial nerves have been irritated and are waking back up after the trauma of surgery. When these occur I just stop what I’m doing, and hold light pressure to the area with the shooting pain and it subsides. Those transient shooting pains I rate a 6 out of 10 scale.

It wasn’t until the 2nd night after surgery that things got a little more painful. I just noticed the swelling became more obvious, and my skin was getting tender. All of which happens when the body is healing after surgery. I also had weaned myself off of the Morphine Sulfate after 12 hours and switched to the less potent Loratab because the MS was making me itch so badly. Anyways, the 2nd night after surgery has been the worst so far. I feel it’ll all be downhill from here, of which I’m thankful!

Without further adieu, post-op day 2 pictures!

(Now remember, when the body is put “to sleep” with anesthesia, it also turns off your digestive tract. Between that waking back up, not eating a lot due to surgery, and narcotics on board, girl has retained a little bit of water weight and bloating. That should come off in a day or two. 😉 )

IMG_7184

IMG_7185

IMG_7186

IMG_7187

IMG_7188

PostOpD2

There you have it! Extremely high and tight, just like the majority of breasts after BAM’s. I like to call them “Spongebob Squareboob’s” because of the square shape the pectoral muscle takes on while it has been traumatized during surgery. Right now, all of the implant is being held above my nipple. In a couple of weeks once I’m healed enough and allowed to start stretching and massaging, the implant will drop into its “pocket” and it will begin looking more like a real breast once more.

I tried to scrub off as much as the marking pen and Dura-prep as possible during my shower– I found using acetone (nail polish remover) did the best at taking off the markings. That being said, my limited range of motion still prevented me from getting all of the pen off.

Hopefully each update will show you progress and help you determine if a breast augmentation is the right choice for you.

Leave a Reply

