Beauty Blast!

Current Obsession: Pinkish-Purple Ombre Lippy

Wow.

Truly, I’m terrible at capturing moments of my life. The fact is, the majority of my week is just like any other twenty-something professional working gal. I’m my own #girlboss (holla!) and I have to hustle to make the dough. So really, throughout the week, my life is pretty non-glamorous. To give you a glimpse dans la vie de Susane, I’m an RN. I work at an outpatient plastic surgery center. So, the majority of my days I spend in unisex surgical scrubs that are too big for me, with my hair in a surgical cap. It’s quite the opposite of what a self-proclaimed fashionista would like to wear. But, on the weekends, I love to glam it up a little bit!

The other day we had a patient come in wearing this rad, bright pinkish-purple lip color with a navy dress. Immediately I knew that I would have to set out to recreate such an eye-catching lip color. So on this sunny Sunday, I set out to M.A.C. to do such a thing.

I ended up playing with a couple of lip-liners and one matte lipstick to find the perfect combo.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

As a base, I use Bite Beauty- line and define- lip primer and plumper. This helps fill in the fine lines of my lips, gives a slight little plump, and keep the lip liner from bleeding outside of where I want it to stay.

So, I used M.A.C.’s Nightingale liner to do the outermost parts of my lips. I fill in a little outside of my top lip, accentuate my bow, and then add a little depth and shading below the middle of my bottom lip to make my lips appear fuller.

Then, I used M.A.C.’s Magenta liner to blend some of the Nightingale line, but mostly fill in the middle of my lips. I love using liner as a base color because it stays so much longer than regular lipstick!

Lastly, I applied M.A.C.’s Flat Out Fabulous matte lipstick. Again, I blended the Magenta filled portion, and filled in the innermost parts of my lips to create depth and an ombre look.

I then pressed (not rubbed back and forth) my lips together a couple of times to get everything nice and even. And, voila!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hope you enjoyed the little Beauty Blast this Sunday evening! Below you can find links to everything I purchased.

Bite Beauty- Line and Define Lip Primer

M.A.C.- Nightingale Lip Pencil

M.A.C.- Magenta Lip Pencil

Forever 21- Heart-Shaped Makeup Sharpener

M.A.C.- Flat Out Fabulous Matte Lipstick

Leave a Reply

