DIY · IKEA Hack · Nest

Boudoir de Susane

Bonjour, mes amies!

So glad you joined me today for one of my most anticipated posts! I’ve had my bedroom in the words for quite some time now, and I feel that I’ve finally gotten it in a place where I can display some of it on here! There are still corners of the room I have yet to capture in the right light (literally, ha,) but I’ve managed to snag a few good snapshots for you to get a general idea of my beautiful boudoir.

Speaking of the provocative term– who knew that boudoir literally translates into lady’s private dressing room? I love that so much more than “bedroom,” don’t you?

Speaking of “bed,” here’s mine! It took me over a year to finally decide on bedding. It’s hard to see the details here, but I have the Martha Stewart “Shimmer” bedding collection. I’ve found it available on a couple of Ebay sites for you. It’s a floral jacquard pattern on a silver/light creme satin duvet. It’s so luxurious it’s perfect for my inner Libra.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

The two rich blue dressers flanking my bed are an Ikea Hack I did recently. They’re the 3-drawer Tarva dressers. They started off an unfinished pine with legs. I primed and painted them, and then sawed off the hideous legs so that they’d be the perfect height for bedside tables! I found the streamline hardware from Anthropologie. And then there’s the “headboard.” This piece is truly sentimental to me because my “Pa” made it. It’s really a screen divider, but I just released the sheer panels so it could be a makeshift headboard for now. It really gives that empty wall some character! The Abstract on the side of the bed is made by yours truly. See the blogpost here.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

I love this little vignette I created on one side of my bed. The brass scales and brass pineapple are both vintage finds that I got for a steal! I love the scales because they have the federalist styling and they also represent my zodiac sign. And I don’t even have to explain my love for pineapple decor right now. (Me and the rest of the of the interior design world– am I right?)

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

My foo dogs!! I absolutely adore these guys. I waited, and searched, and waited, and searched some more before having these beaute’s land in my little digital lap! Actually a lovely InstaBlogger tagged me in a post saying they were on sale at One King’s Lane temporarily. I’m so glad I saw the tag and I scooped them up as fast as I could! I also adore my flashy gold playing cards. They end up as bookmarks more than they do played with, but that’s a-okay by me!

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

This is my little accessory nook. I love all the small details, and of course I love all my jewels! The pineapple wall art is a DIY from a stencil. 🙂 The candle sticks are super affordable from Ikea. I love, love, LOVE my acrylic earring and bracelet holder, as well as my little unicorn ring holder.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

Look at that little guy! ❤

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

I’ve had this jewelry box since I was a tot! It’s another very sentimental piece of mine, because it’s from my dad’s jewelry store here in Atlanta. Check out Cachet Fine Jewelry here.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

I might have a small Michael Kors watch addiction.

I already did a post about my Ikea hack desk here, but I wanted to display the styling one more time with better photographs. Hope you enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

I love Kate Spade’s acrylic letter tray seen here, but I did NOT love the price. So, I bought this customizable one, and some gold foil paper, and voila!

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

Of course I still feel that it’s a work in progress, but I’ll probably always feel like that. I just think it needs more on the walls. I saw a lovely captain’s mirror DIY hack on Instagram that I want to try next. I think they’d be a perfect addition over my bedside dressers.

I hope you enjoyed my little room tour! Updates to come in the future!

4 thoughts on “Boudoir de Susane

  1. This is great! I think Pa’s screen divider worked out fantastically, and it’s not something I ever would have thought of. I think my favorite part of your room are the bedside tables that you hacked. I love those! I also really like that little jar in front of your foo dogs. That whole arrangement, the dogs, the jar, pink statue, the gold playing cards — they all look great on that color blue.

    Nice job on the accessory nook and the desk, too. Those kinds of spaces are so easy to clutter, but you’ve figured out some great ways to organize that seem like it’s probably not too hard to keep clean.

    Impressive… most impressive. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Nate! I still use the white dresser and bookshelf Pa made me, too! They definitely need to be refreshed with paint though, the knots are showing through!

      I didnt display the bookshelf because it looks pretty cluttered and has a big ugly black tv on it. Hard to make that pretty anywhere.

      Right now I’m debating on getting some sort of cheap overhead light. I’ll probably do another ikea when o get around to it. Too bad I’m only on this place for another 5 months then it all has to go into storage…

      Like

Leave a Reply

