Artistic Adventures · DIY · Nest

Just Another Abstract

Well, I hope you all are art-lovers, because I have another Artistic Adventure to share with you all!

Ever since moving into our new place back in May, we’ve had naked walls. I mean, oh so very naked walls. To make things worse, they’re like 15′ tall! So there’s a LOT of wall. We needed big, BOLD, pieces to put up, but that means $$$ in the art world. So please enter my good friend, DIY.

I found the artist “Art Pause” on Society6 that did a splatter paint job of the Atlanta skyline (and many other skylines,) but 1. He didn’t sell a stretched canvas as big as I wanted, and 2. The price for a much smaller canvas was still very expensive. So I went to handy dandy Michaels and bought a 48″ x 24″ canvas, (which they usually are selling for 50% off) then I found a great vinyl source on the internet Vinyl Silhouettes, that would enable me to recreate my very own masterpiece!

 

The inspiration
The inspiration– The silhouette I found wasn’t quite as nice as this one, but alas, you sacrifice for DIY.

 photo 2

First, I laid down my watercolors into a sequence that I liked.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Then, I put the (removable– it’s meant for walls) decal down on the color. I wanted to have the splotchy paint dripping down the bottom like in the inspiration, so I made sure I didn’t cover up the bottom when I put it down. Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of the step where I stuck the vinyl on, but you get the picture.

photo 5

After I stuck the vinyl on, I took careful care to spray paint only the top edges of the skyline decal white. So after several white spray paint coats, I carefully peeled the decal off to reveal this!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

photo 3

 

I hope you enjoyed my finished masterpiece as much as I enjoyed creating it! Share with me some DIY successes of your own!

One thought on “Just Another Abstract

Leave a Reply

